That time I tried Pure Barre

                           “Take care of your body. It’s the only place you have to live.”

– Jim Rohn

Happy Wednesday!

Since I’m getting married next year, I’ve really kicked my workouts into high gear. Trying new workouts is a good way to keep your body guessing. I used to be a cardio bunny. I completed 2 half marathons and various 10k and 5k races. Fall of 2015 I started to try out a little bit of lifting and would go back and forth with it. Some weeks I was consistent and other times I wasn’t.

Fast forward to January of this year. I made it my New Years’ resolution to do something new every month. It’s August and  unfortunately I didn’t keep my resolution (but who does). I made it through the first month where I decided to try out the new big thing, Pure Barre.

I would describe Pure Barre as a mix of strength training, Pilates and ballet moves combined into one. With my history of spending time in the gym, I thought Pure Barre would be a piece of cake. I purchased the new student month unlimited for $99 and got up the courage to go to my first class.

First things first, I was VERY nervous going into the class. It seemed like every lady in there wore head to toe Lululemon and I showed up in my Target Champion gear. The next thing I noticed was that they all had HUGE diamonds on their fingers. I was ready to turn around and walk right out, but… I didn’t. Instead I stayed and endured through a 55 minute sweat induced, leg shaking class. I am NOT kidding when I say I could hardly get out of bed the next day.

Classes start with a warmup, followed by some ab and arm work and finishing with the legs and seat (booty). Each position challenges those small muscle fibers and I promise you will get a great workout!

12719640_10103162513220218_4481808426643705769_o

I did Pure Barre for 3 months and while I didn’t see weight loss, I definitely saw definition in my arms. They recommend going 3 times a week to see some results. Also, for any of you ladies that are engaged, if you bring in proof (i.e. a wedding invite or save the date) you can get a discounted 3 month rate!

I highly recommend Pure Barre for a new and fun workout!

with love, lindsey

 

Leave a comment